Two Harmonies (2011)

Viola, Percussion, Piano/Sampler (one player)


Commissioned by Andrew Zientek


Two Harmonies was commissioned by landscape architect and visual artist Andrew Zientek for a video he created with Francis Bitonti titled Not Only: I, II. The first movement, Gymnopédie, is dedicated to the late and great composer/percussionist Arthur Jarvinen. Gymnopédie has in the past been performed as the fourth movement of Art Jarvinen’s Three Gymnopédies, each of which was composed in memory of someone that suffered a violent death. Movement II, Fantasy for Roberta Liss, is dedicated to my dear cousin (long-time upper east-sider and self described “tough broad from the Bronx”) whose spirit and love of life lives on in those that knew her. Movement I uses a 21 note tuning of my own design. Movements lI uses a 19 note equal division of the octave tuning.

New World Records 80736-2, Wendy Richman, viola; Timothy Feeney, percussion; Shirley Yoo, piano

Plurabelle Music Publishing (Distributed by Subito Music Corp.)

World Premiere
January 14, 2012, LotUS, Andy Warhol Museum, Pittsburgh

Notable Performances

July 7, 2015, Thailand International Composition Festival, Bangkok


Two Harmonies performed by Wendy Richman, viola; Timothy Feeney, percussion; Shirley Yoo, piano